Back Bay

Share
Copley Square, with Trinity Church; Creative Commons License

Upcoming Tours

  • Friday, June 2, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 3, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 4, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, June 9, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 10, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, June 16, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 17, 2017 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, June 23, 2017 - 2:00pm

Ticket Information

Online: Adults $13; Children 6-12 $8
Cash: Adults $15; Children 6-12 $10
Free for Boston By Foot Members.
Tour lasts 90 minutes.

Back Bay

Unlike the casual, chaotic way in which early Boston was laid out, the streets of Back Bay are arranged in an orderly grid.  Renowned for its elegant homes, the architectural marvels of Copley Square, and its signature stately boulevard, Commonwealth Avenue, the Back Bay is one of Boston’s most charming neighborhoods.

On this tour you will learn how the Back Bay, once an actual body of water, was filled in and how the neighborhood was developed in the mid-1800s to become one of America's richest collections of art and architecture.

The treasures of the Back Bay tour include Trinity Church, the Boston Public Library, Old South Church and the grand Back Bay townhouses.

Join your guide in front of Trinity Church in Copley Square and walk back in time to view splendid examples of Victorian architecture.

Schedule 2017

May-October
Friday & Saturday 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Sunday 10:00am - 11:30am        

This tour can be scheduled as a private tour at any time with advance notice. Private tour rates do apply. Call 617.367.2345 or use our private tour webform to learn more.

Explore More of Our: 

May 2017

S M T W T F S
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
28
29
30
31
1
2
3